Pam West British Notes

Back to News & Info
SPHG Home Page
home district south

Home District South

The postmarks are used in connection with the scheme, which was brought partly into operation early in 1934 to provide a quicker delivery, without extra fee, of letters posted on Sundays, Bank Holidays and Good Friday in an area which may be described as the 'Home District' outside the London Postal Area.  Four districts were set up: North, South, East and West.  Croydon Head Post Office was the collection area for the South District and where the postmark was applied.




Offices served and post box closing time in the Southern Home District area:

Addiscombe  4.15

Beckenham  5

Bromley  5

Caterham  5.30

Chislehurst  4.15

Cobham  4

Croydon  6

Gravesend  4.15

Leatherhead  5

Lower Kingswood  4.15

Mitcham  4.15

Sutton  5.30

Thornton Heath  4

Walton-on-the-Hill  4.30

Warlingham  4.45

West Wickham  6


Towns just outside the scheme:

Ewell, Dorking, Reigate, Redhill, Godstone, Oxted, Westerham & Sevenoaks





Copyright 2024 Pam West British NotesOur use of cookies